Photographing the Sunrise at Valugan Boulder Beach

The first photo below was taken during my first trip to the area. I was on a guided tour and we arrived here at 2:30 in the afternoon–not the best time for a shot like this.

Since Valugan Beach faces the east, I knew the sunrise was going to light up the sky and the rocks. Two days later, I woke up at four a.m. and made my way to the shore in complete darkness. I was almost sure that I was going to slip and become wedged between two large boulders. I would then have to wait for the next tour group to rescue me–if the rising tide doesn’t drown me first.

I set up on a large piece of rock and tried my best to focus and compose in the dark. Occasionally a big wave would crash against the rocks and I had to lift the camera and tripod to protect it with my body. I must have waited for the sun for almost two hours. When it finally came out, it all happened so fast. I tried to make the most of my time by shooting a variety of compositions. But when the sun had cleared the clouds, I knew it was over.

Photography is always about light and sometimes, working without it.

Boulder Beach4Boulder Beach2ValuganSunrise

 

2 thoughts on “Photographing the Sunrise at Valugan Boulder Beach

Leave a Reply

